Pioneer SA-7800

Sold for: $405

Years available 1979–1980

Right, my friends, in my opinion, this amp belongs to the most beautiful series of amps ever designed. These are the ’63 ‘Vettes of the audio world. You cannot know how good they look and feel until you have one in your rack. In many ways I think that this one—the bottom of the line—is the best amp. I’ve owned all three in this series and the other two (SA-9800 & SA-8800) have a ridiculous number of levers and knobs. This one in the most manageable for those of us who tend to set all of these in the flat position.

Inside the case is one one mofo of a transformer and 4 x 8000uF caps, so plenty of good, clean power to burn. Very good separation of instrumentation and a super-clean, almost clinical, clarity to the music.  If you are going to buy (invest in) any of this series, it really does help to familiarise yourself with the insides as you will have to periodically clean ALL the pots and lever switches — I emphasise “all” here because failure to clean them all may cause even the most unlikely of contacts affect sound across one or both channels. I have fixed many a misbehaving amp from this series with a decent clean.

No real weaknesses (except for the pots and switches) and the blue fluro meters have never been beat.

8 Comments on “Pioneer SA-7800”

  1. An says:

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I\’d figured I\’d ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. If you\’re interested feel free to shoot me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

  2. Chris says:

    We have two of these amps. One is left from my husband’s college days. Do you know of anywhere I can get instructions on what and how to properly clean all the dials etc?

    Does anyone know a repair/cleaning shope who could do this?

  3. http://andcarinsurancequotes.com says:

    I want to convey my love for your kindness giving support to those who need guidance on the concept. Your special dedication to getting the solution around has been extremely productive and has empowered girls like me to reach their objectives. Your entire useful guideline entails a whole lot a person like me and further more to my office colleagues. Best wishes; from everyone of us.

  4. Simon says:

    Hi
    Have you got some spare-knobs for the SA-7800 (1x speakers, 3x bass/treble) for sale? Thanks in advance!

  5. This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined
    your rss feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your web site
    in my social networks!

  6. cat sweater says:

    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this web site’s
    articles or reviews daily along with a cup of coffee.

  7. DoubleDropUk says:

    I have one possibly for sale spares or repair?? any interest?


Leave a Reply

