Yamaha CA-410 Integrated Amplifier

Sold for: $205

 

This one I paid way too much for, mainly because I pulled the trigger and purchased it before doing a little research. Still, I made a little coin on the back-end, so all OK!

The CA-410 is the baby in the Yamaha CA-X10 lineup (with the CA-2010 at the top of the tree). This series is perhaps the most famous ever produced by Yamaha, and in many ways was responsible for positioning the brand as a serious hifi producer in the public consciousness. The CA-410 is rated at 25 watts RMS into 8 ohms and weighs about 8kgs.

These smaller models are some of the best vintage buys around. Most buyers chase after horse-power, but when it comes right down to it, we do most of our music listening using only a few watts. My first ever amp, a Pioneer SA-7100, was only 22 WRMS but it was good enough to last for 15 years of music-making and loud enough at numerous parties to get a visit from the noise police! So, if you are on a budget but still want vintage, then this is the way to go. Not too much seems to go wrong with these Yamahas; in fact, I don’t think I’ve ever had to repair one of this series beyond cleaning and lubing pots and switches.

6 Comments on “Yamaha CA-410 Integrated Amplifier”

  1. Chris says:

    It is really a nice, good sounding and bnice looking amplifier. I’ve bought mine for 7,50 euro’s ;). Had it refurbished (the parts you talk about) and the sound is really clean and warm. My speakers are Elac’s 209 1st series. The set goes loud enogh but so as you describe: It’s not about horsepower but the sound.

  2. pat says:

    I got a very nice one of these and very happy, had to pay also, three hundy I slapped down for it on Canuck audio mart and a fifty mile drive but its very warm and I’m glad I finally got one after looking for years. Running it through my refurbed KLH 17’s… Floats my boat!!!

  3. I have a Yamaha model ca-410 stereo amplifier and 2 speakers (speaker system ns-625) would like to sell…not sure how much its worth these days. looks new but one of the speaker drums is damaged.

  4. johnny says:

    Hi all, I have too have the ca-410 with matching ct-410 tuner….im looking for the matching turntable, if one exists what is the model number??
    Cheers

  5. Adam says:

    Hi guys, just buying CA 410. Like the looks this old stile is cool. I will compare with NAD 306
    I hope it will be useful. He from old continent Adam

  6. Bruce says:

    I bought a CA-410 brand-new as a music student in the 70s and along with a pair of EPI M50s it did fine and along as my only music source until the late 80s. Good little amp.


Leave a Reply

